Bad Things, Good People

This post goes out to four very strong ladies who are flying through some very turbulent skies right now.  They have shown enormous strength through these rough times and may they continue to flex their wings.

The wingflex and strength of an aircraft being guided in the right direction by the control tower.

A very painful question asked by many people is, “Why do bad things happen to good people?”  I know I make a ton of analogies to aviation, however, please allow me even more so to use aviation to help explain my thoughts:

Aircraft manufacturers spend billions of dollars constructing passenger aircraft every year to provide a product to its clients and passengers that will fulfill the job.  Each plane has an origin and destination.  Flight plans must be made and safety measures must be carried out.  To guide each plane along the way is a control tower (or centers) that watch every move  of every aircraft on radar no matter the length of the flight.  The towers know what type of aircraft are in the skies and what they are made of.  Controllers wouldn’t (or shouldn’t) guide or vector and aircraft down a wrong direction or altitude to set it up for a mishap or worse, a crash.

Imagine we are all airplanes in an airport.  What has cost to construct our lives is priceless.  Just watch a newborn taking its first breaths into this world.  We were constructed with flesh, blood, and a central nervous system which was tested to withstand many stressful times in our lives.  Unfortunately, as we soar through life we encounter rough air, some times more turbulent than others.  Unfortunately, some people encounter such heavy turbulence that it causes them to crash.  Despite the fact we have mechanisms to resist it, it does put a lot of wear and tear on our bodies through stress.  It is to our advantage that we have a control tower of sorts, handbooks, checklists, etc. through friends, communities, religious organizations that would never guide us down the wrong path even though they may advise us on something that we find totally not to our advantage at the time.

I’ve been told many times by certain people that bad times have great outcomes.  They may not come at the time we want, however, if we remain strong, flex our wings, request from the control tower a different path or altitude, then we should see our final destinations through the strength we’ve endured.

Be strong through blue skies!

jeremy

3 thoughts on “Bad Things, Good People

  1. Jeremy… Something good always comes out of everything. I know that.

    My girlfriend told me to never call the Chief Pilot Support center because they are not there to help. As I found out… she was right. I’ve also been told to just lie to the company and say you’re sick when you need days off. But that lying violates our rules of the road.

    So… this morning I did the right thing and learned why pilots lie if they need to stay home. Why did this happen to me? Because I know how wrong it is that we have to force people to make a decision of paying the hospital bills or being with our loved ones…. or lying. The safety risk of working under duress is too high.

    Not sure why this all happened to my husband. I just think it’s time for him to retire, and now he has no choice. Why did I get pulled off payroll because I stayed with him in the hospital? Because I am willing to take this on, and make sure another pilot will never have to make this choice.

    This should be a corporate philosophy. It’s all about mental health. Just one more thing.

    Thank you for this lovely post!

    • Karlene, the only wrong decision is the decision not made. You definitely made the right decisions and you have people to back you up even in your district. Like I mentioned before, spending time with family is the most important thing anyone can do in a situation like this.(Sometimes I feel guilty for not having spent enough time with mine as I am 600 miles away but I knew or know in the final analysis that I did my best and my family knows it.) Going on deck with stress, or going on deck with any stressful job is putting everyone at risk: passengers, students, people who are not capable of surviving without you, at risk. I could go on, but let me conclude with the fact that you have been a tremendous person to your family, your profession, your friends, and to everyone you’ve come across. Your decisions are a reflection of your will to be a success in your many roles in life. You should continue to take on your will to make sure that other pilots and future pilots such as myself will not be subjected to such turmoil. Your situation today has opened my eyes of how bad things have become. We now have a mission. I will be in touch with you, G°d willing.

      • Thank you Jeremy… yes, we never give enough time. And we need to focus on those beyond ourselves too. Safety of that decision would have been compromised. And how many people would make the wrong decision because they are making it while severely fatigued and out of concern for paying the coming extensive bills and mortgage, etc…. and doing the right thing? Many. That is scary.

Leave a Reply

