Neil Armstrong (1930 – 2012)

“That’s one small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind”
― Neil Armstrong

After having a good coffee and listening to the Motion Picture Soundtrack to “Apollo 13” performed by the Prague Philharmonic, I always get a good tear that comes to my eye when I think of the quote above – even when Neil Armstrong was alive.

If we were to take Armstrong’s quote and think about it, not only was it an astronomical achievement for science itself, but every time I hear a young child say, “I wanna be an astronaut when I grow up” I think of Neil Armstrong. A pioneer, innovator, and someone who turned a dream not only into reality for science, but also for those very young lives with a dream.

I was not fortunate enough to be alive during the time when Neil Armstrong first set foot on lunar soil, but I remember that of what my parents tell me. My great grandmother refused to believe it was real. She thought it as all set up in a TV studio. For those who believed it truly happened, nothing would ever be the same again.

The Control Tower from above vectored/directed Armstrong into a flight path that changed the course of history not only for the sake of history, but also to fuel the dreams of many only waiting to take us further and faster.

20120826-151709.jpg

May his legacy shine through our future aviators, scientists, and dreamers.

jeremy

One thought on “Neil Armstrong (1930 – 2012)

  1. Thank you so much for paying tribute to an inspiring, and humble man. I was 7 when he walked. And while I don’t remember much of my childhood… I do remember this moment. Thanks for sharing this. One giant leap…

Leave a Reply

